Joe Burrow wants the 2021 Bengals crime will be “more explosive” in downfield

Joe Burrow recovered from a torn ACL, giving the Cincinnati Bengals quarterback time to evaluate his rookie season.

NFL London fans buy the ticket easily at discounted prices from here NFL London Tickets.

NFL London Tickets
Joe Burrow giving the Cincinnati Bengals quarterback time to evaluate his rookie season

Discussing his return to the game with Albert Breer of Sports Illustrated, Burrow said one area he needs to improve in year 2 is his deep ball accuracy to create more explosive competition.

“As of 2020 there are good and bad,” Burrow said. “I want to be more explosive. And I think I’m really good at fast games. In the fourth game, we’re really good. Empty, we’re really good. But we need to be more in the game. Explosive pass. All our downfield passing need to be improved.”

According to data from Next Gen Stats, Burrow completed just 9 passes over 20 yards, 293 yards, and 1 touchdown in 2020. According to NGS, his 19.6 completion rate and -9.1 completion rate are the worst of all quarterbacks’ expectations, with at least 40 deep shots.

“I’m just not as accurate as last year (at LSU),” Burrow told Breer. “It frustrates me because I’ve always been good thrower. Just go back to basics and really focus on my base. I just started running and throwing a few weeks ago, so I’m standing and throwing and focusing on the basics helped.

NFL London Tickets
QB needs to be more accurate than his rookie campaign

The addition of first-round receiver Ja’Marr Chase, Tee Higgins, and Tyler Boyd gives burrow a trio with explosive potential. First, Burrow needs to have time to make those big moves work, and then QB needs to be more accurate than his rookie campaign.

The 24-year-old quarterback said last week that his strength reached “85%” at this stage in his recovery. Burrow reiterated to Breer that he hopes to be 100% by the start of training camp in July, at least for the first week.

Burrow said: “I don’t know how strong my mobility is. It’s too early to judge if I’ll feel normal, escape the rush and do all this.” “But I’m optimistic, I feel good now. We are. Just wait until training camp, how it will feel. I’m really doing everything right now, just make my legs stronger it’s hard to say how explosive I am in running races now.”

If Burrow’s arm explodes in 2021, it will be enough for the Bengals to succeed in their crime.

NFL London fans buy the Jaguars vs. Dolphins Tickets easily at discounted prices from our website.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started